Don Tiki - Hot Like Lava (AGS-064)
Don Tiki - Hot Like Lava (AGS-064)
Don Tiki - Hot Like Lava (AGS-064)
Don Tiki - Hot Like Lava (AGS-064)
Don Tiki - Hot Like Lava (AGS-064)

Don Tiki - Hot Like Lava (AGS-064)

Regular price $20.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Don Tiki, the leaders of exotica's turn-of-the-21st-century revival, bring their soundtrack for a Technicolor Polynesian pop paradise to Aloha Got Soul in 2021.

Each LP includes a pair of custom Don Tiki 3D glasses.


Don Tiki debuted from Honolulu in 1997 with the album, The Forbidden Sounds of Don Tiki, featuring the legendary Martin Denny in what would become one of his final recordings before his passing. The group, led by Fluid Floyd (Lloyd Kandell) and Perry Coma (Kit Ebersbach), draws inspiration from the original masters of the exotica sound, Denny, Arthur Lyman and Les Baxter, to bring such evocative music into the 21st century.

Following The Forbidden Sounds, Don Tiki's recordings further deepened the group's reverence for and exploration of the poly-rhythmic, mid-century sounds pioneered by Denny, Baxter, and Lyman. Those albums, originally available on compact disc, include Skinny Dip with Don Tiki (2001), South of the Boudoir (2009), Don Tiki's Hot Lava Holiday Songs (2012), and a remix album entitled Adulterated (2004).

Hot Like Lava collects the group's top instrumentals for an exhilarating, paradisiacal ride through the world of tiki subculture on lava-colored vinyl.

Releasing August 27, 2021.

Praise for the Don:

"Tiki supergroup Don Tiki knows the world, the subculture of tiki…it really doesn’t get much better than this!” ~ Anthony Bourdain, No Reservations

"Don Tiki is providing the soundtrack for this Technicolor projection of a Polynesian pop paradise." ~ Sven Kirsten, The Book of Tiki

Don Tiki is:
Kit Ebersbach – keyboards, bandleader
Lloyd Kandell – producer, congenial host
Lopaka Colon - congas, bongo, bird calls
Hai Jung - bass, vocals
Sherry Shaoling – vocals, dancer
Abe Lagrimas, Jr. – vibraphone, percussion
Ryoko Oka - keyboards
Noel Okimoto - drums (Forbidden SoundsSkinny DipSouth of the Boudoir
Jason Segler - drums ("In Thailand")
Bonny B. - drums (live performances)
Tim Mayer – reeds
Violetta Beretta – dancer, costumer, vocals