Americana: Rock Your Soul [BBE]

Americana Hawaiiana: Rock Your Soul Compilation

Aloha Got Soul is moving fast this week. There’s the 70s Nightclub Reunion this Saturday, the high def DVD that’s available for preorder, a glimpse of the Lil’ Albert “Movin’ In” album (which I’ll be sharing in more depth real soon). Oh and there’s the 2011 Na Hoku follow-ups that I still need to post with more photos from the awards ceremony.

And now this. Five Hawaiian soul musicians on one BBE compilation. This is quite an accomplishment, especially for a mix CD with 16 songs total… way to go Hawaii for repping the Aloha sound!

Americana: Rock Your Soul [BBE]

Cover art for Americana: Rock Your Soul on BBE

Americana – Rock Your Soul: Blue Eyed Soul & Sounds From The Land Of The Free is the compilation title, and it’ll rock your socks (or slippers) off. Pre-orders are being taken for the upcoming July 4th release date.

Mark Taylor of Happy Jazz Radio Show and his colleague, Zafar Chowdhry, put together a 16-track CD filled with American music from “the darker corners of American pop culture.” Mark and I have been ‘internet friends’ for a while now, sharing music and information about Hawaii. So I kinda feel like Aloha Got Soul is part of this project.

“We’d wager you’ve not heard of many of the artists here and that’s ultimately the purpose: to shine a light on the darker corners of American pop culture. And they don’t get much more radio-friendly than this shining collection here.” – Americana… Press Release

If you didn’t know, BBE is a UK-based record label that frequently features the world’s best DJs, musicians and crate diggers (record collectors). A personal favorite of mine, though not Hawaiian music, is Disco Forever compiled by Dimitri from Paris.

Check out the full track list for Americana: Rock Your Soul (Hawaiian artists with *):

*01. Babadu – I Love Music
02. Eric Tagg – Living Off The Love
03. Jaye P. Morgan – Can’t Hide Love
04. James Walsh Gypsy Band – I’ve Got The Feelin’
05. Jesse McFall and The Funk Elegant Orchestra – Thought You Ought To Know
* 06. Lil’Albert – My Girl Friday
* 07. Mike Lundy – Love One Another
* 08. Tender Leaf – Coast To Coast
09. 1619 Bad Ass Band – Just For You
10. Michael Killen – A Little More Time
11. Breakaway – Who Was It This Time
12. Midnight Flyer – I Just Want To Love You
13. Ian Willson – Four In The Morning (Goodking Edit)
14. Life Force – Slow Dancer
* 15. Society Of Seven – Between Hello And Goodbye
16. Evans Pyramid – Never Gonna Leave You

Place your pre-orders for CD and 2×12″ vinyl from BBE. Check out a review from audiotexture here. Listen to the compilation online here.

Keep the good vibes flowing and donate to Aloha Got Soul.

Leave a Reply